The Fifth Season

(Broken Earth #1)

Trade paperback, 498 pages

English language

Published Sept. 11, 2015 by Orbit.


View on OpenLibrary

View on Inventaire

5 stars (4 reviews)


IT STARTS WITH THE GREAT RED RIFT across the heart of the world's sole continent, spewing ash that blots out the sun.

IT STARTS WITH DEATH, with a murdered son and a missing daughter.

IT STARTS WITH BETRAYAL and long-dormant wounds rising up to fester.

This is the Stillness, a land familiar with catastrophe, where the power of the earth is wielded as a weapon. And where there is no mercy.

This description comes from the publisher.

6 editions

Review of 'The Fifth Season' on 'Goodreads'

5 stars

Utterly amazing. This book makes up for all the mediocre stuff I have read this year. READ THIS BOOK!

Ahem. Now to a more detailed review. The Fifth Season is the first book in N.K. Jemisin's post-apocalyptic far future trilogy The Broken Earth. Due to natural disasters the world has changed, and there's only one super-continent now, called The Stillness. There is a lot of seismic activity on Earth, and there's always the looming danger of a Fifth Season, a post-apocalyptic winter when volcanic ash prevents sunlight, sometimes for months, sometimes many years. People gang together in towns that are called comms, storing up caches for a season, divided into a caste system of seven major castes. The safest area in the Stillness is the belt of cities at the equator, where Yumenes is the largest city in the world. In Yumenes there's the Fulcrum, a school of orogenes. Orogenes …

avatar for

rated it

5 stars
avatar for

rated it

4 stars
avatar for

rated it

5 stars